Wade sent to South Africa, as injured Maxwell returns home

Save articles for later

Add articles to your saved list and come back to them any time.

Veteran batsman Matthew Wade will make a late dash to South Africa for the Twenty20 series starting this week, as Glenn Maxwell returns home because of an ankle injury.

Maxwell complained of a minor aggravation to his left ankle during the team’s first training session in Durban over the weekend. The dynamic all-rounder was sent for scans, with Cricket Australia revealing the medical advice was to take a conservative approach, and for Maxwell to return home and miss the three-match T20 series.

On his way home: Dynamic all-rounder Glenn Maxwell will return home from South Africa.Credit: AP

Of greater importance is having Maxwell fit for the ODI World Cup in India from October.

He was already scheduled to miss the ensuing one-day series, so he could be at home in time for the birth of his first child.

“We are taking a precautionary approach, given Glenn was heading home next week in any case,” Australian selector Tony Dodemaide said.

“We will monitor Glenn’s recovery with a view to him being available for the three-match ODI series in India in advance of the World Cup.”

Maxwell’s latest mishap continues a frustrating year for the Victorian, having broken his leg in a backyard birthday party last summer.

Dodemaide said the hard-hitting Wade, a World Cup-winning T20 batsman, was the ideal middle-order replacement for the series starting on Wednesday (Thursday morning AEST).

“Wadey is a world-class performer and is and is fit and ready to go, having this week completed his commitments with the London Spirit in The Hundred,” Dodemaide said.

Maxwell is the latest big-name Australian to miss the South Africa series, for Steve Smith (wrist) and Mitchell Starc (groin) pulled out because of injury. Pat Cummins (wrist) will miss the T20 series, but is due to return for the ODI series. Mitchell Marsh will captain the T20 and ODI teams.

Australia will name their preliminary squad for the World Cup next week. The final 15-man squad must be confirmed by September 28.

T20s v South Africa

August 30: First T20I, Durban (August 31, 2am AEST)

September 1: Second T20I, Durban (September 2, 2am AEST)

September 3: Third T20I, Durban, (September 3, 10pm AEST)

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Wade, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa.

ODIs v South Africa

September 7: First ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 9: Second ODI, Bloemfontein (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 12: Third ODI, Potchefstroom (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 15: Fourth ODI, Centurion (D/N), 9pm AEST

September 17: Fifth ODI, Johannesburg, 6pm AEST

Australia ODI squad

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Tanveer Sangha, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Sports news, results and expert commentary. Sign up for our Sport newsletter.

Most Viewed in Sport

From our partners

Source: Read Full Article