‘It was his day’: Unbeaten Jaiswal hits record-breaking IPL half-century

Save articles for later

Add articles to your saved list and come back to them any time.

Kolkata: Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal became the leading wicket-taker in Indian Premier League history as Rajasthan Royals crushed Kolkata Knight Riders by nine wickets on Thursday (Friday AEST).

Chahal grabbed 4-25 to surpass Dwayne Bravo’s record of 183 and stretch his tally for the season to 21.

His bowling buckled down Kolkata at 8-149 before young left-hander Yashasvi Jaiswal (98 not out) smashed a 13-ball half-century and sped Rajasthan to 1-151 in just 13.1 overs.

The victory pushed Rajasthan to third with 12 points and dropped Cameron Green’s Mumbai Indians to fourth on net run-rate. Kolkata slipped to seventh with 10 points as the battle for four play-off spots heats up.

Jaiswal put the game beyond Kolkata’s reach in the first over when he smacked 26 against Nitish Rana’s off-spin bowling.

Jaiswal came close to equalling the all-time T20 record of a 12-ball half-century before flicking Shardul Thakur to deep square leg for a single to complete his fifty off 13 balls.

Record-breaker Yashasvi Jaiswal celebrates after the winning runs for Rajasthan Royals.Credit: AP

Jos Buttler was the lone wicket to fall without scoring when he was run out off a direct throw from Andre Russell at the non-striker’s end before captain Sanju Samson also made a rapid unbeaten 48 off 29 balls to the disappointment of Kolkata fans at Eden Gardens.

Jaiswal’s power-hitting saw the 21-year-old hit 10 fours and five sixes while Samson was also ruthless, smashing five sixes and two fours in a century stand.

“I didn’t have to do anything, just rotate strike and watch,” Samson said while praising Jaiswal’s batting. “It’s time to give Chahal the legend tag. Very grateful to have him, you just need to give him the ball without saying anything.”

Earlier, Trent Boult (2-15) lived up to his knack of picking up wickets in the powerplay when he dismissed two big Kolkata hitters in Jason Roy (10) and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (18).

Yuzvendra Chahal surpassed Dwayne Bravo as the tournament’s all-time leading wicket-taker.Credit: AP

Chahal then squeezed the runs in the middle overs, taking the big wickets of top-scorer Venkatesh Iyer, who made 57 off 42 balls, and Rana as both tried to accelerate by going for big shots.

He then returned in the death overs and accounted for the wickets of Thakur and another Kolkata power-hitter, Rinku Singh, who made 16 off 18 balls before holing out in the deep against the leg-spinner in the penultimate over.

Chahal now has 187 IPL wickets after his seventh four-wicket haul.

“Jaiswal’s innings was praiseworthy,” Rana said. “I bowled first (over) because I thought I could gamble as a part-timer and get the in-form Jaiswal out but it was his day.”


Sports news, results and expert commentary. Sign up for our Sport newsletter.

Most Viewed in Sport

From our partners

Source: Read Full Article