Howe will be backed by English managers in Carabao Cup final

Eddie Howe will be backed by English managers everywhere as Newcastle take on Man United in Sunday’s Carabao Cup final… It’s been 15 years of hurt for homegrown bosses since Harry Redknapp led Portsmouth to FA Cup glory

  • It’s been a long wait for English managers when it comes to domestic silverware
  • Premier League clubs have imported the very best managers from overseas
  • Many homegrown managers and coaches will be willing Howe to lift the trophy 

Eddie Howe will end 15 years of hurt for English managers if he leads Newcastle United to the Carabao Cup against Manchester United on Sunday.

Harry Redknapp was the last English manager to win a major prize with an English club when his Portsmouth side lifted the FA Cup in 2008.

Ironically, since the formation of the globally-recognised EPL (English Premier League) in 1992, domestic managers have struggled with top clubs importing world-class leaders like Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klopp and Pep Guardiola – and Sir Alex Ferguson representing the Scots.

In the first Premier League season, 16 of the top-flight clubs were managed by Englishmen. Today the number has dwindled to four; Howe (Newcastle), Graham Potter (Chelsea), Sean Dyche (Everton) and Gary O’Neil (Bournemouth).

Howard Wilkinson remains the last English manager to win the championship with Leeds in the final season of the old first division, 1991-92, and only two have won trophies of any kind this Century – Redknapp and Steve McClaren (2004 League Cup).

Eddie Howe celebrates Newcastle’s passage to the Carabao Cup final – where they will take on Manchester United at Wembley this Sunday

The Toon have reached their first major cup final since 1999 as they chase an elusive trophy

Harry Redknapp was the last English manager to win a domestic trophy in England – the FA Cup with Portsmouth back in 2008

Since Pompey beat Cardiff City in their Wembley final, 22 different managers from 10 nations have lifted silverware here but none of Howe’s compatriots.

Some travelled further afield for success. Steve McClaren won the Dutch league with PSV in 2010 and Steven Gerrard became a Scottish champion with Glasgow Rangers.

In terms of English coaches persuading club owners they can cut it in the Premier League, Howe’s match-up with Erik ten Hag at Wembley is significant.

Many homegrown managers and coaches who feel their opportunities have become limited will be wishing him well.

David Pleat, who pitted himself against giants of the game Bob Paisley, Brian Clough and Sir Bobby Robson as manager of Luton, Tottenham, Sheffield Wednesday and Leicester, feels neutrals will be in Howe’s corner but fears even a positive result might not create a sea change.

‘A lot of English coaches want to manage. They can take courses to learn but there is no substitute for sitting in the chair,’ says Pleat, a long-standing active member of the League Managers’ Association (LMA).

‘There is a reluctance to give managers from the lower leagues an opportunity and that’ll continue whilst we have an abundance of overseas owners.

Erik ten Hag and Manchester United will be out to stop Newcastle ending their trophy drought

‘Managers like Mark Robins and Gareth Ainsworth have proved themselves at a lower level over many years but are unlikely to be given the chance in the top division these days.

‘l think a lot of them will want Eddie Howe to lift that cup because he also did the hard yards at Bournemouth but I’m not sure even that will have a longer-term impact.

‘The big clubs use agents and analysts who push the credentials of foreign managers.

‘It seems to be an English thing. In Italy, France and Germany, they have more coaches from their own countries.

David Pleat believes there is a reluctance to give English bosses from lower leagues a chance

The LMA hope things are changing and Howe would become a flag-bearer if he wins on Sunday.

‘It would be a great achievement for Eddie personally and provide inspiration to young aspiring managers and coaches,’ acknowledges their chief executive Richard Bevan.

‘The perception of home-grown coaches has improved in recent years and with Gareth Southgate’s excellent custodianship of the national team, there is growing belief English managers can absolutely operate at the very top level.’

The LMA, who look after managers of all nationalities, have put in place development programmes and qualifications through their Institute of Leadership and High Performance to help homegrown coaches.

‘It enhances knowledge and experience,’ added Bevan.

Trophy-winning managers in England since 2008 by nation 

SPAIN 12 – Pep Guardiola 9, Rafa Benitez 1, Roberto Martinez 1, Mikel Arteta 1

ITALY 10 – Carlo Ancelotti 2, Roberto Mancini 2, Antonio Conte 2, Roberto Di Matteo 2, Claudio Ranieri 1, Maurizio Sarri 1

SCOTLAND 8 – Sir Alex Ferguson 6, Alec McLeish 1, Kenny Dalglish 1

GERMANY 5 – Jurgen Klopp 4, Thomas Tuchel 1

PORTUGAL 4 – Jose Mourinho 4

CHILE 3 – Manuel Pellegrini 3

FRANCE 3 – Arsene Wenger 3

NETHERLANDS 2 – Guus Hiddink 1, Louis van Gaal 1

NORTHERN IRELAND 1 – Brendan Rodgers 1

DENMARK 1 – Michael Laudrup 1

Source: Read Full Article